Injury Lawyers Ottawa Congratulates the 2015 OTLA Cup Winners

The 2015 Ontario Trial Lawyers Association Cup took place March 7, 2015 in Kingston, Ontario at the beautiful Frontenac County Courthouse. The OTLA Cup is a fantastic opportunity for mooters from Ontario law schools to prepare and carry out a one-day trial. The teams this year came from the law schools at Osgoode Hall, the University of Ottawa, Queen's University, Western University, and Windsor University. They presented a trial of a motor vehicle accident in which a young lawyer was seriously injured when he was struck by another driver while driving home from work, then further injured when the other car's passenger pulled him from the wreckage. Mr. Justice Brian Abrams of the Superior Court of Justice, East Region, presided over the event. He gave detailed, constructive, and very supportive commentary to the mooters. His participation was most appreciated. We extend our congratulations to the winning mooters for their exceptional work: Best Overall Advocate: Jessica Lastuk (Osgoode Hall) Best Team: Sean Lewis and Will Samson-Doel (Western University) Best Opening Award: Sean Lewis (Western) Best Examination in Chief: Jessica Lastuk (Osgoode Hall) Best Cross Examination: Kristina Zilic (University of Ottawa) Best Closing: Jaime Mor (Osgoode Hall) OTLA President Steve Rastin also gave a great talk providing positive guidance to the contestants following the moot. Andrew Cammon was the Western coach, and deserves credit for guidance of his winning team. Injury Lawyers Ottawa played an instrumental role in the 2015 OTLA Cup. As key members of the organizing committee, our team was involved in putting together the problem and materials, organizing the teams, and making logistical arrangements. Derek Nicholson, OTLA Cup Chair, personally sponsored the swag bags that mooters received. Special thanks are in order for Derek's assistant, Donna Bradbury, who did outstanding organizational work on this event, as well as Sig Pantazis and Jessica McClay for their time and efforts. Thanks also to the other generous sponsors of this event. Connolly Obagi LLP (Ottawa), Scarfone Hawkins LLP (Windsor), Fireman Steinmetz (Osgoode Hall), and Lerners (Western) sponsored transportation. The awards were sponsored by Tim Boland, Greg Monforton, Bonn Law Office, Will Barristers, H. Bruce T. Hillyer, and Bergeron Clifford. Thanks to Bridgepoint, Collins/Barrow, McKellar Structured Settlements, and Brian Cameron of Oatley, Vigmond LLP for hosting meals and refreshments for the mooters. We are proud to have taken part in making the OTLA Cup possible, and we congratulate the mooters on their accomplished presentation of their case and their participation in this unique event. Photos of the event: [caption id="attachment_289" align="alignnone" width="300"]OTLA Cup Best Team Winners OTLA Cup Best Team Winners Sean Lewis and Will Samson-Doel, with Mr. Justice Brian Abrams and Derek Nicholson[/caption] [caption id="attachment_288" align="alignnone" width="300"]The mooters and their coaches The mooters and their coaches[/caption] [caption id="attachment_286" align="alignnone" width="300"]Jessica Lastuk of Osgoode Hall accepting the Best Overall Advocate award OTLA Cup Best Team Winners Sean Lewis and Will Samson-Doel, with Mr. Justice Brian Abrams and Derek Nicholson[/caption]  


Subscribe to our Newsletter

Sign me up